A picture is worth a thousand words

A picture is worth a thousand words. They say that a picture is worth a thousand words. Now, I’ve never looked at a picture and tried to come up with a thousand words to describe it (frankly, I don’t have the patience) but I understand the sentiment behind the saying.

People are visual creatures. In fact, sight is the sense that is most often relied upon. As such, it makes sense (no pun intended) that images play an important role in telling stories.

While browsing The Guardian US edition’s website, I noticed that many of the images that accompanied articles featured people. This doesn’t surprise me considering that people tend to react my strongly towards images of people and animals rather than images of things, but the idea that news stories would be accompanied by images that overwhelming  feature human beings did not cross my mind before I was specifically asked to pay attention to visual journalism.

Additionally, I feel that the stories that I was drawn to while browsing The Guardian were the ones that were accompanied by pictures, which is funny because I didn’t really consider my self to be a particularly “visual” person, although perhaps I was wrong.

Actions shots, if particularly well done, can also be extremely successful at giving the reader  a better insight into the story. Random street scenes, however, do little to convey that Bay Bay residents are displeased with the increase in the cost of public street parking.  Objects can also add a layer of depth to a story, but, from what I’ve seen, they are best employed when the object is of significance, such as in Amy Deneson’s piece about her experience and thoughts on purity rings.

Read Amy’s piece here: https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2017/feb/18/purity-ring-virginity-abstinence-sexual-education

Leave a Reply

